5 Star Review of 30 Songs album – January 2020

5 STAR***** REVIEW of 30 SONGS ALBUM  in RnR (Rock ‘n Reel) magazine January 2020


* * * * * 30 Songs   Red Sky Records RSKCD 122

It is a mystery to me why the name Johnny Coppin is not more firmly embedded in the public consciousness, and his songs have not equalled the reach of those of, say, Al Stewart, Clifford T. Ward, or Gallagher and Lyle. As a singer-songwriter he first came to my attention in folk-rock band Decameron and has produced albums as a solo artist for over forty years. He’s toured for many years with Phil Beer, and today works in a duo with Mike Silver.

         30 Songs is a retrospective of music from seventeen albums over that time, including many songs not available for years, CD One being a band/electric selection and CD Two an acoustic selection. Phil Beer, of course, features, along with electric guitarist Mick Dolan, Matt Clifford on keyboards, and variously Mick Candler and Trevor Foster on drums. From the radio-played single ‘Believe In You’ to settings of poems by Charles Causley, Ivor Gurney and others, there is not a single ‘filler’ track here.

The crystal-clear quality of Johnny’s singing, the outstanding songwriting and the polished productions in evidence on this album surely merit even greater recognition of this master craftsman.

Colin Bailey

This entry was posted in General news, New CD release, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.